ResCare State Winners Head to the Hill

West side view of the United States Capitol building.

West side view of the United States Capitol building.

WASHINGTON, DC (May 5, 2015) ­ The job is fun and challenging and absolutely a job that makes your heart grow. That’s the consensus of 15 ResCare employees who were honored today in Washington DC as their individual state’s best Direct Support Professionals (DSPs). DSPs work with the nation’s most vulnerable individuals, whether it’s seniors who need support to stay in their homes, or people with intellectual and developmental disabilities who rely on DSPs to help them live and function in their communities.

ResCare’s DSPs and dozens of other award winners were in Washington DC to be honored by the American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR), a national providers association, in its annual DSP of the Year recognition. ResCare’s winners represent 14 states and Canada. Hundreds of DSPs were nominated from all over the U.S. for the distinction—fewer than 50 win.

After the ceremonies the group heads to the hill to meet congressional representatives from their states and talk to them about what they do every day. Historically Direct Support Professionals are paid through state and federal Medicaid funds. The ultimate goal in working with legislatures is to increase awareness in the vital role they play in people’s lives and to increase DSP wages. They want legislators to know their stories and the passionate and caring role they play in the lives of the people who need them most.

ResCare’s 2015 Direct Support Professionals of the Year winners are:

  • Samantha Pease, Florida
  • Kathy Spracklen, Idaho
  • Bryan Wade, Kansas
  • Johnathan Barjolo, Kentucky
  • Stephanie Givens, Louisiana
  • Yvette Murray, Michigan
  • Shawron Ollison, North Carolina
  • Jennifer Houle, Ontario, Canada
  • Jennifer Neeley, Tennessee
  • Carole Davis, Utah
  • Christopher Taylor, West Virginia
  • Brandi Bristow, Wyoming

Read more about the winners and all the nominees for DSP of the Year.